Latest Album

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut rhoncus risus mauris, et commodo lectus hendrerit ac.

Dora Lewis

Back to the Grindstone


Back to the Grindstone

Ronnie Milsap Back to the Grindstone
Artist: Ronnie Milsap
Label: RCA Records
Release Date: March 1991
1. "Since I Don't Have You" (Joseph Rock, James Beaumont)
2. "All Is Fair in Love and War" (Tim Nichols, Robert Byrne)
3. "Are You Lovin' Me Like I'm Lovin' You" (Johnny Cunningham, Steve Stone)
4. "When the Hurt Comes Down" (Roger Murrah, Keith Stegall, Thomas Cain)
5. "Back to the Grindstone" (Dave Loggins)
6. "Spare the Rod (Love the Child)" (Jeff Silbar, Jeff Pescetto, Mark Mueller)
7. "Love Certified" (Chuck Jones, J.D. Martin)
8. "Turn That Radio On" (Paul Davis, Archie Jordan)
9. "Old Habits Are Hard to Break" (John Hiatt, Marshall Chapman)
10. "I Ain't Gonna Cry No More" (Don Schlitz, John Hall, Johanna Hall)
Available Now On:
About New Album

Back to the Grindstone is the twenty-first studio album, produced by Ronnie and Rob Galbraith (with further assistance from Richard Landis on “Since I Don’t Have You”), and released on March 12, 1991. The album produced four singles, three of which reached the top ten on the Billboard country singles chart, including “Are You Lovin’ Me Like I’m Lovin’ You,” “Since I Don’t Have You,” a cover of The Skyliners’ 1958 standard and “Turn That Radio On.” The fourth single, “All Is Fair in Love and War” peaked at number 11.

The album reached number 24 on country charts, and was Milsap’s last crossover until Then Sings My Soul in 2009, peaking at number 172 on the Billboard 200. Allmusic praised Milsap for a “gutsy [and] powerful performance” on the record, stating that “not one of the ten songs…is weak.” The publication characterized it as “one of his best albums,” lauding the performer’s “eclectic, soul-inflected R&B” style.